22
Apr
08

With Reckless Abandon

So, I was at work, and I ran downstairs to the little cafe to get an afternoon snack. I wasn’t alone, as several of my coworkers ambled down to grab one of the many tasty nuggets of goodness the shop offered. As I paid for my ice-cream sandwich, baked Lays, and gummy fruits, I overheard a woman speaking with her friends about buying a cookie.

Co-Worker 1: “Aw, man. I should have never looked at those cookies. Now I want one!”

Co-Worker 2: “I know! They look so delicious! Darn! Now I want a cookie too.”

Me: (under breath) “Just BUY the damned cookie already.”

Co-Worker 1: “Well, it’s ok to be naughty every once in a while, right? I’ll take one chocolate chip cookie, please.”

Co-Worker 2: “Of COURSE it’s ok to indulge. Just don’t go about eating cookies with reckless abandon!”

And with that, I snatched my snacks (already thoroughly enjoying the ice cream sandwich, naturally) and made my way back up to my floor, shaking my head the entire time.

One cookie equals reckless abandon? The hell? ONE bloody cookie?! I cannot imagine what they thought of my snacks: ice cream, chips, AND gummy fruits? Reckless abandon is probably an understatement.

But barring the fact that one cookie is not going to send one down the slope to potential fatness, why can’t we eat with reckless abandon? Now, and I may be taking too much liberty with definitions here, but the phrase “reckless abandon” means enjoyment, right? If that be the case, why shouldn’t I enjoy a cookie (or 3) or an ice cream sandwich, or chips, or candy, or a salad, or…well, y’all get the point. Folks place so much weight (Puns. I has dem. Not intentionally, though.) on a “good” food or a “bad” food it prevents them from enjoying it on a normal level, never mind with reckless abandon.

So, for the purpose of us sticklers for accuracy here, let me define a good food: one that you like, is tasty to you, makes you happy, and does not make you feel as if your belly will detach and run away if you eat it. A bad food, then, is disgusting to you, you dislike it, makes you terribly unhappy, and does indeed make your belly run for the hills without the rest of you when you eat it (or will kill you because of food allergies).

Get it?

If you eat the good foods, you will be happy and healthy both mentally and physically (very rarely will your body ask you for something it doesn’t need. Confused? Research “intuitive eating”for more info.) If you eat the bad foods simply because some loved one/evil diet/clueless doctor/whodafuckever told you to because fat is evil/fat is deadly/fat is unattractive/whydafuckever, you are going to be fuckin’ miserable. Who wants to live that way? Why force that upon yourself? It’s wrong, and those of you that are in (or like me, have been in) this situation KNOW how wrong it is.

Toss off those shackles of good and bad, y’all. And grab that cookie or food you’ve been depriving yourself of and nosh away–with reckless abandon and zero guilt.


13 Responses to “With Reckless Abandon”


  1. 1 littlem
    April 23, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Heh.

    Our society is run by Puritans, historically. My little theory is now that sex is generally “OK”, no one has time for a bubble bath or massage, and gas-guzzling SUVs and overspending on McMansions will never go out of style, people — particularly women — have to have some life element on which to displace the guilt.

    Don’t go through the womens’ magazines. You will read about dessert as indulgence – oh, about 2,765,987 times – and then you will want to throw the tome across the room.

  2. 2 C-town
    April 23, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Reckless abandon means a careless disregard for consequences. You are taking far too much liberty with definitions.

    And if your body won’t ask for something you don’t need, what about processed sugar (such as is found in ice cream sandwiches and gummy fruits)? Eating processed sugar will make you crave processed sugar. Then you might think you’re eating “intuitively”, but really you’re just adhering to a chemical dependence.

  3. 3 damnsle
    April 23, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Maybe it’s just me, but a careless disregard for consequences does mean enjoyment. I mean, generally speaking, if you are constantly aware of and worrying about consequences, you’re not going to be having all that much fun.

    Just saying.

  4. 4 Cty
    April 23, 2008 at 9:45 am

    The last time I can recall seeing someone eating with reckless abandon, I think it must have been a kid. In general, by the time people hit adulthood (or hell, even our teenage years, if not earlier) there’s such a stigma around eating and food that enjoying it is usually the last thing on people’s minds. Not everyone’s, of course, but I do think that the full sensory experience of eating is a rare thing nowadays.

    And C-Town? I hate trying to speak for someone else, but I think you did miss the point a bit of the post. Even if you take “reckless abandon” to mean a “disregard for consequences” (which completely misses the indulgent, lose-yourself-in-the-experience, live-for-the-moment connotations of the phrase), one cookie – or rather two – doesn’t warrant that much concern. Further, there’s a real problem with our culture when a grown woman has to rationalize away her desire for a single cookie with public statements of guilt, regardless of the wording used.

    And also, we’re all chemically dependent on *food* if you think about it. People with a sweet tooth who eat more sugar might be more likely to crave it, sure, but don’t think that all our cravings aren’t determined by our internal chemistry. To me, it sounds like you’ve doomed intuitive eating without ever truly trying it or listening to what others’ experiences with it are like.

  5. 5 Karen
    April 23, 2008 at 10:23 am

    *raises hand* I have a small little problem with hypoglycemia. If I don’t have sugar, and, since I don’t make a habit of chewing sugar cane, nearly all of mine is processed in some manner, I get weak, shaky, and ill. Obviously I have a chemical dependency, is the solution avoidance? Or is the solution to make sure I get enough and don’t get sick?

  6. April 23, 2008 at 11:40 am

    It makes me sad when I see anyone trying so hard to rationalize the desire for one freaking cookie or a sliver of cake. Just eat it, already. Stop with the hand-wringing and enjoy a small pleasure!

    I refuse to feel guilty for cuddling my cat when the floor needs sweeping, and I refuse to feel guilty for enjoying a sweet snack now and again…or even often.

    Now if you’ll excuse me, I owe a neighbor a blueberry pie and I think I’m going to bake it for him today. Who knows? He may even share, which would be lovely. Mmmm…blueberry pie.

  7. 7 Jen
    April 23, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    I think I’m in love. *huggles fashionablenerd*

  8. April 23, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    And C-Town? I hate trying to speak for someone else, but I think you did miss the point a bit of the post. Even if you take “reckless abandon” to mean a “disregard for consequences” (which completely misses the indulgent, lose-yourself-in-the-experience, live-for-the-moment connotations of the phrase), one cookie – or rather two – doesn’t warrant that much concern. Further, there’s a real problem with our culture when a grown woman has to rationalize away her desire for a single cookie with public statements of guilt, regardless of the wording used.

    Right on, Cty. It’s exactly what I was saying. And just for the record, even though you never asked, C-Town, I actually crave delicious fruits as well. For me, it’s just the actual food. I love gummy bears, fruits, worms….and such. It’s a texture thing. I love ice cream, but a lactose intolerance issue keeps me from eating it regularly. See, it fits into that “makes belly run for the hills” category. So essentially, it’s the sweet and not the actual processed sugar. But every once in a while, when I get that craving, I go for it…and my body doesn’t rebel against me. But y’know, I could indeed be taking far too much liberty with definitions. But for the purposes of this post, I like my version better. :-)

    Karen, you should TOTALLY avoid chemical dependence. So don’t do drugs and such. :-D Sugar for hypoglycemia? I say go for it, cause livin’ is wonderful.

    Awww. *huggles Jen* Thanks! :-D

  9. 9 Staci
    April 24, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    What’s your point exactly? You bought a lot of fattening crap then overheard a normal-weight person stressing about buying one item of fattening crap. Then you felt guilty so you posted about it so that your online fatass friends could tell you it’s OK to eat what you want. Instant forgiveness – isn’t the internet wonderful?

  10. April 24, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    *snort* I should probably take that comment up there down. But it provided such a wonderful laugh.

    I don’t feel guilty for what I eat. My point, ma’am, is that NO ONE ELSE should feel guilty for what they eat. I’m not admonishing the woman for stressing over the cookie. Unfortunately, as women in this fatphobic world, we are conditioned to scrutinize every bit of what we eat. Dealing with assholes like you, for example, would be the reason behind that woman’s stress over ONE FUCKING COOKIE. Now then, I don’t need ANYBODY to tell me that it’s ok to eat. I’m a grown ass woman. I do what I damn well please. What I am doing with this post, in fact, what I (and IntellectualFeminist) am doing with this BLOG is informing those who aren’t aware that what one eats and how much or how little one weighs is not a fuckin’ moral failure.

    And the internet is indeed wonderful, Staci. The most wonderful thing about it is your address bar. You got a fuckin’ problem with what I write, see your way to another fuckin’ website. If you can’t help with discourse here, and make a better (read: non-sarcastic) attempt to understand what I and my co-blogger write about, take your ass to another fat hating website. The shit ain’t gonna fly here.

    Thanks, and have a great evening! :-)

  11. 11 cocoyea
    April 25, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    I can’t believe that someone would be so hateful and on someone else’s blog. It’s like home invasion. It just goes to show how dyfunctional our society is. Also, her comment to you was obviously fueled by self hate. And what the hell is “normal weight”?

  12. April 25, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Well, in my way of dealing with definitions, “normal weight” is whatever weight your body is happiest. I can’t speak to how Staci is using the term, though. :-)

    And in my readings of other blogs, unfortunately, I can’t say I’m suprised at the hatefullness on blogs like this one. We’re introducing a revolutionary concept: you really can love yourself no matter the size. And I know for some folks the concept is hard to swallow.


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

