02
Nov
07

Delicious Fridays: Pasta Tonight!

Ok. I’ve decided that I’m gonna take a break twice a week from being all serious and stuff, and incorporate a bit more of  me into this blog. So today, I’m introducing you to a favorite pastime of mine: cooking!

 Well, at least once a week I pick a random recipe I see on any website (Gourmet, Bon Appetit, Food Network, etc.) and try it. Even if it’s something I wouldn’t in a million years eat (or maybe something I have to google so I can pronounce it properly), I cook it up and try it. I think that I’ll share my adventures with you all so that you too can be bold about eating delicious things. Now I suppose I should warn folks that everything I’ll post isn’t gonna always be healthy (indulgence is lovely, and needed!). But we don’t need a license to eat tasty, indulgent food.

Wait, you do? Ok, go here and print you out one. Then come back here and enjoy. This week’s recipe comes from Bon Appetit. It’s a vegetarian dish, but I’m sure you could add chicken if you wanted.

Rigatoni with Red peppers, Wild Mushrooms, and Fontina

deliciousfridays1.jpg

Photo credit goes to Leo Gong.

Now, this will be my supper tonight! If any of you choose to make this your supper, drop me a line in the comments and let me know how it went, what modifications you made, etc. Or, feel free to share anything else you’re making for supper (I am always looking for new ideas). Happy cooking!

2 Responses to “Delicious Fridays: Pasta Tonight!”


  1. 1 nuckingfutz
    November 7, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    I haven’t visted with you in a while and decided I needed a distraction from my NaNo for a bit, so I thought I’d pop over here. When I saw this, I had to chime in and tell you about something I’ve started doing lately, and my family – even the KIDS!! – absolutely love it.

    You’ve heard of Spaghetti Bolognese, right? (Stupid question, I know, but there’s a point.) What I make is a VEGETARIAN version of Spaghetti Bolognese. Instead of using meat of any kind, I cut up a bunch of veggies (I like to try different things each time I make it, so it’s never the same thing twice), sautee them for a bit, and then add the sauce. Then I serve that over pasta (I never use actual spaghetti though – too messy) with a bit of garlic bread. Even the staunch “meat & potatoes” Hubby likes it – and he thinks veggies come from the devil! *lol* (Okay, not really, but close!)

    I do the same thing with Indian sauces. Curry, Tikka, etc. Just use veggies in place of meat. That one we usually have alone (no kids) because the kids don’t like the spicy food we like, but if I could find a non-spicy sauce, they’d probably gobble that one up, too.

    I just thought I’d share that one with you. Not only does it make it a little bit healthier, but it’s nice for a change once in a while, too. Not to mention that depending on how much veggies you decide to use, you can get a lot of your “RDA” in for the day in one meal. 🙂

  2. November 7, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Aww, thanks for coming to visit!

    Well, when I made the dish above, nobody wanted to eat it because there was no meat. I live with voracious omnivores, and while i do enjoy meat, I’ve been leaning toward veggie fare. And I have to admit your recipe sounds like that will be my supper tonight.

    But I’ll be making everyone else steak. 🙂


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

