28
Nov
07

A Fashionable Day

I’ve been gone for a while. There’s no real reason, although I did catch up on some sleep. But when I flipped through my mom’s Essence magazine the other day, I got really excited.

Like, REALLY excited.

The holidays, of course, are upon us, and with these holidays comes the need for beautiful dresses and shoes. Ok. ANY time of year comes with a need for beautiful dresses and shoes as far as I’m concerned, but y’know, the holidays give you an excuse to go buy them. Anyway, I flipped to the holiday section of the Essence to look at the party dresses, and I thought…wow. That’s a gorgeous model. And man! What a gorgeous dress! And then it hit me why I was so enthralled with both dress AND model for a change: she looked NORMAL.

Wait! Don’t get the torches and pitchforks yet, because I have to explain what normal means for me. And it’s got a bit of a cultural thing attached, so bear with me, folks. In my family, you’re gonna get picked at for being “too skinny” (like my stepsister, who wears a size 0) as you are for being what’s considered too big (that’d be me, at a size 20-24 depending on the store). So, as a Black woman, “normal” isn’t very thin (ok, is anybody’s normal extremely thin? Most likely not) so to see a fashion editorial that begins at a size 8 (YES! A size 8! not a 0-4 like one is typically used to seeing in a magazine) is akin to finding an elusive pair of shoes in my size (I wear a size 10. Apparently, so does everyone else within 30 miles of here.)

I mean, these models had hips and bums and..wait. Is that a bit of a belly? OMG! So they do make models that look like…well, actual women! And I swear that the last young lady (the one in the fabulous Ashley Stewart dress I lust for) could be my body double…if I were a bit taller, that is. 😆

Like…I felt good, like I did when I first discovered b & lu and got happy when I saw some women that looked like me modeling the dresses. Like hey, dammit, now I have proof of what I’ve been telling folks all these years. Just because I’m fat does not mean I can’t look fabulous! I can be just as fashion forward as anybody else!

What a revelation, y’all. One akin to this one.

Ok, I have to go make a shopping budget. Y’all should too, and go pick yourselves up something fabulous to wear: life’s to short to not dress well!

3 Responses to “A Fashionable Day”


  1. 1 nuckingfutz
    November 28, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Those ARE some beautiful dresses… AND some beautiful models, too! I guess my version of normal (even though I happen to be of a different… uh… “ethnicity”) is the same as yours. Those women? Lighten their skin tone, and that’s pretty much what I envisioned myself as in my FoBT.

    I wish I could join you in the shopping spree. I have 2 problems when it comes to shopping, though. A) REALLY tight budget; and B) NO sense of style WHATSOEVER. I mean I seriously have no idea what would look good on me. I go and I try clothes on and to me, everything looks horrible (but I know, and I’ll admit it, that that’s basically my horrible self-image at work). What I really need is a personal fashion consultant to actually TEACH me how to dress. Unfortunately, in our current situation, the only way that’s going to happen is if I win the lottery. (Which would be NICE, but I ain’t holding my breath. Blue is not a good look for me – at least not skin tone!!)

    I get frustrated, because I’m starting to get to the point where I think maybe I CAN look good, I just don’t know how to go about DOING it.

  2. November 28, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Eh. The only reason I even get a shopping budget is because I only have to worry about me. But when it comes to style, I actually rely on the magazines (eh. for the trends, not so much on how the clothes look) and What Not to Wear.

    I dunno when it comes on in the UK, but it comes on at least once a day here in the States. Oh, and if you really want a personal fashion consultant, I’m your woman! Although it’ll kinda be hard to do with an ocean obstructing the way and all, I’m pretty good at picking out trends and colors (and stretching a budget. I’m really cheap to be such a fatshionista! 😀

  3. 3 nuckingfutz
    November 29, 2007 at 3:39 am

    What Not To Wear is only on about 6 weeks of the year – although they might show reruns on cable, but I don’t HAVE cable, so I wouldn’t know.

    I absolutely HATED Trinny & Susannah (who did the first couple of series). I mean HATED. With a passion. But the new hosts (Lisa Butcher and Mica Paris) are wonderful. They’re honest, but they have compassion – and considering that 99% of the people who go on that show have low self-esteem and/or body image issues, that’s what people really need. Trinny & Susannah were nothing but highly paid bullies.

    The problem is that shows like that never show a woman like me – someone who is the same size she was when she was 18, but who looks totally different due to having children (thanks, girls!!). Seriously – I weigh the same or less than I did when I graduated, but I have all this loose skin from having my oldest (pre-eclampsia + water weight gain + 9 lb. baby = streeeeeeeeeeetched out tummy). So while I LOVE watching those shows (it’s nice to see the butterly emerge from the cocoon, ya know?), they don’t help ME much.

    The good thing? When I CAN afford clothes, I know where to go. There are two shops out here – Evans and MKOne – that have some really nice, stylish plus sized clothes. But when I buy something, I have no idea if it’s really the right thing for me. For all I know, I could have bought something that makes me look even worse than I normally look.

    Man, I’m wordy today. Can ya TELL I’ve got nobody to talk to? 😆


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

