22
Jan
08

My Favorite Search Terms

I love reading my stats. Not only do I get to see how many folks pop by to read my rants, but I get to see how people got to my blog.

Some come via other sites, and some get here through searches. Those searches…oh boy. I simply giggle when I see some of the searches folks run.

One day, I got a hit from someone looking for Paula Deen’s caramel cake recipe. I’m sorry I didn’t have it posted (my caramel cake recipe came from a Southern Living cookbook), but, if you should ever need it again, click here.

Someone else ran a search on “don’t hire fat people”. Hm. I’m not so sure what to say to this one (maybe you were looking for someone else’s article on the subject?) but I will say this: the only time you should ever decide NOT to hire a fat person is if said person isn’t right for the job. Basically, it would be the same reason you wouldn’t hire ANY SIZED person for a job. Skills, education, and merit should shape a decision of that nature, not size.

Another researcher coasted in with “treating obese people with insensitivity.” See above. Folks rarely deserve to be treated with insensitivity. If you rape and shoot folks? Yes, I reserve the right to be insensitive. If you’re fat? Why would I be? If you’re thin, in-between…seriously, folks. Size is not a moral failing, I don’t give a damn who the hell told you otherwise. Humans should be treated with respect regardless of size, height, age, skin color, or religion. Period.

Next up: “Is too much bread making me fat?” Hm. Well, the sassiness in me says absolutely not. But then, your weight gain could be indicative of a medical issue. Perhaps you don’t metabolize sugar well (since bread=carbs=sugars), and all you want is bread because your body is screaming for something it can’t get. Perhaps you have PCOS. My point is, don’t vilify the bread just yet. See if it’s something serious, and if not, I say enjoy the bread anyway. But for the love of yeasty baked goods, don’t give up the bread just to drop some pounds. It isn’t worth it.

A real good one was the person who found me through the search “fat people can’t help it bullshit.” My, my, my. Well, darlin’, on the off chance you weren’t looking for a specific article with that line, or surprised to find someone who didn’t cosign with that touch of jackassery, let me tell you something. Unless you can tell me exactly why people gain weight (and I mean ALL people, not just blanketed statements) and cannot take it off, and it be something as simple as making me a Bunsen Burner (as in less calories in, burn more, weight loss bullshit fed to us fat folks), some of us CANNOT HELP IT. I dunno why I’m fat. I eat healthy, I work out, all that stuff that as a “good fatty” *eye roll* I’m told to do, and I’m fat. I’ve done diet after diet and become nothing but broke and depressed. You think I have some kind of moral failing? I don’t. Nor does any other fat person in the world, be they sedentary or active, healthy eaters or otherwise. To put it in the simplest, crudest terms possible: fuck you. You don’t get to decide what’s truth and fiction for everybody, yo.

And finally, I come to the number one reason folks make it to my blog: folks want to know what in the hell Photophobic means. And for the record, the actual meaning of photophobic is not the meaning I’ve invented for the use of my blog. According to MSN Encarta, the actual meaning of photophobic is:

1. Affected by photophobia: related to or having a condition in which the eye has very low tolerance to light.

2. Being afraid of light: having an irrational fear of light

3. Growing well in reduced light: describes an organism such as a plant that grows well in reduced light.

Nah. Nothing to do with how I use it at all. Full disclosure: I had no clue there was such a thing as photophobia…or being photophobic, so if anyone is offended by my cavalier use (simply to indicate I have a fear of taking pictures) then I apologize. But in case anyone really wanted to know what it means: there you go.

3 Responses to “My Favorite Search Terms”


  1. 1 Ozy
    January 25, 2008 at 3:30 am

    Why do people get fat? Why are you, in particular, fat despite eating the same amount of food as thin people? Genetic differences in what your body considers to be a normal weight, apparently.

    What I don’t understand, though, is why the body does not operate in starvation-level energy conservation all the time. The implication is that if you are not starving, you’re body is simply discarding usable energy for the hell of it! Actually, I think I can see why this would happen. The level of food intake that humans can survive on in terms of energy when operating at maximum efficiency might not, for our hunter-gatherer ancestors, contain enough vital micronutrients. So, you’re body has you eat stuff it won’t extract energy from just for the vitamins and minerals, and then discards energy because the energy intake that corresponds to the required nutrient levels would result in morbid obesity.

    Until a famine hits. Then conservation-mode kicks in after the first few missed meals. I’m just thinking out loud here. Don’t mind me. I just thought you might be interested in that article.

    Though, another implication of that article is that fat people can lose weight… if they’re willing to trigger their body’s starvation response. Hmm, probably not much worth all the trouble, is it? But I suppose if one is the sort of person to pursue calorie restriction, the facts of the matter would seem to let you trigger the reduction of metabolism believed to provide the relevant benefits without having to become extremely skinny, like average-weight people would have to. It is questionable that naturally very skinny people could even maintain their health under such a regimen.

    This is my first time here, as it happens. I arrived via a search for “sanity watcher points,” meant to reveal to me what those are supposed to be. What’s up with those?

  2. January 25, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Well, first, welcome! I’m glad you stopped by to visit, Ozy.

    And no, I hadn’t come across that particular article, but indeed, it is difficult to remain healthy while restricting calories. Which is why it amazes me that diets are touted as the be all-end all to good health. As I’m sure you concluded, a restrictive diet is no shangri-la to thin.

    But to answer your question (and truthfully, I might have missed the Sanity Watchers search), Sanity Watchers is a term coined by the folks over at Shapely Prose. Essentially, it’s a warning for people who read the comments connected to an article about fat, be it good or bad. As one can expect when talking about such a weighty (ha!) issue, the comments go from supportive to downright nasty. So, if you want to maintain your sanity (points levels are akin to those of the diet that…eh, claims to not be a diet), it’s best to not read them.

    Hope to continue to see you around my blog and the fatosphere!


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

