06
Feb
08

Job Hunting

So, in the Endless Pursuit of Getting My Life Together, I’ve been looking for a stable job. Well, I’m getting interviews, which is half the battle, but no offers yet.

As I was scanning the listings at Monster, I came across a customer service job for a diet company.

I’m not tellin’ y’all which one. No publicity here, folks.

Anyway, in my Relentless Pursuit of Work (RPW) I actually CONSIDERED the position. Now, I know what y’all are thinking. If she needs the job, why not work for random diet company A? It’s money, and more than likely, it’s GOOD money. All of which are very valid points.

But knowing what I know about diets, from both first and second hand experience, there is just nothing in my soul that wants to help perpetuate the self-degradation that is diet. ESPECIALLY the chain folks. I don’t want to be the person helping others to wreck their metabolism. Or the hassle and pain of group meetings and weigh-ins. Or help them order prepackaged food that smells of Alpo.

Furthermore, I know full well as soon as someone calls me I’ll dissuade them from even paying for the plan with a healthy dose of Fat Acceptance! Or perhaps I’ll piss ’em off enough so that they’ll at least hang up and THINK about it. At any rate, even if I got the job, I’d more than likely get fired. The same day.

Yeah. So, I’m gonna keep looking. I need something I can stick with, and y’know, not get fired from.

And I owe people emails. (Sorry Phledge! I haven’t forgotten you, I promise!) Shame on me. I’m gonna work on that.

As soon as the RPW flowin’ through my system calms down a bit.

3 Responses to “Job Hunting”


  1. February 9, 2008 at 4:27 am

    you were completely right in not applying for that job. in fact, it would have been nuts to do so. i’ve been in your boat before, and been tempted to apply for jobs at places related to the weight loss industry, but i realize that it’s a bad idea period, and an even worse one for someone recovering from body image issues. there is such a thing as putting your values above money : )

  2. February 9, 2008 at 5:58 am

    I just posted this in response to your comment on my blog, and then realized that you might not see it : )

    The way I see it, this situation is the same as me applying for a job behind the meat counter at my local grocery store. I saw an ad for that exact job the other day and joked to my husband that I should apply. (I’m currently looking around a bit for a part-time job to supplement my freelance work.) I’m a vegetarian and have been since I was 13, with a short break in my early 20s when Crazy Me decided that being a vegetarian was making me fat because I was eating too many carbs.

    Throughout my job hunt, I see my moral objection to selling weight loss products as being equally important to my moral objection to meat. (Even more so, actually, since I understand and respect the opposing viewpoints when it comes to vegetarianism, while I completely disagree with everything the weight loss industry promotes.)


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

