16
Feb
08

My Original Career

Yay! Swedish Chef!

 Before I decided I wanted to do the literary thing, I wanted to be a chef. I say this now because in the last few weeks, I have been revisiting that dream. Full disclosure: I almost went to culinary school instead of university. Really. And I don’t regret going to university first, because it’s given me the platform I’m gonna need if my latest career move is to come to fruition.

I’d like to be a food writer. And a pastry chef. Only because I couldn’t bring myself to make soup of a turtle. Espcially if he was still looking at me when I was gonna cook him. Well, that and my grandmother (on mom’s side) used to be a pastry chef. She worked in the grocery store, I think. And her pies and cakes? Were some of the best around. And so beautiful! My mother says I got the baking gene from her. And I ain’t half bad when it comes to taste. Aesthetics? Well, I’m gonna need some help on that.

I’m feeling a little more comfortable putting that out there now, after so many years of saying I want to be a lawyer. And what’s important for me to remember is that one’s initial dreams don’t fade simply because another path is taken. They’re always there, and I have all the time in the world to do other things as they strike me.

But I think I’m gonna follow this path first and see where it leads me. But, culinary school is NOT cheap. Neither is the move I’m gonna have to make. So, I’m still on that job search grind, because money must be saved.

And maybe, with the added boost of degree number 1, I can bring about the first career plan I had in mind.

2 Responses to “My Original Career”


  1. February 20, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    yay swedish chef!! this made me giggle, a lot : ) i love him. he’s in my top 5, along with the mnah mnah guys (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07gfXxixftY)

    as for you career, do what your heart tells you to do. my husband got a dual degree in two related fields, one of them artsy and one more business-y. he was tempted to go into the business one because the arts are a bitch. but he knew that if he didn’t give the arts side a shot, he would regret it for the rest of his life. so he went for it, and things were tough for a few years, but he has done really well. he’s solidly employed full-time doing what he loves, and never would have gotten here if he hadn’t taken a risk. if you have a passion for something, follow it. you’ll be happier, and besides, you will almost always do better at something you really love than you will at something you just like.

  2. February 20, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Thanks for the advice! I’ve all but made up my mind to do culinary school. I just gotta break the news to my folks (who, God bless ’em, don’t care one way or the other what I do, as long as I’m happy).

    I’m just happy that there’s a profession that combines my love for food with my love of writing.


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

