16
Apr
08

I Saw Myself Today.

In the mirror, after my shower, I saw myself.

No different than any other day…except…

I saw beauty. Not ugly.

My skin, the color of caramel sauce, draped over a shoulder that’s uplifted many a friends head

And provides a cuddle-spot for my nephew when he hugs me

Is covered in stretchmarks, and scars from falls

But I wasn’t disgusted, for once.

My belly, with all its rolls and lines

Looks soft and warm…not deformed or horrid, as I once believed

Many a lover’s hand has spanned and rubbed this belly

Lips have kissed the heart-shaped scar on the left

While stroking the tender skin on the right.

My legs…shapely, strong. Limber. Powerful.

The rump that when carried on my fabulous legs

Is a work of art. Awe-inspiring in it’s roundness

Sexy in its sway

And devestating in a pair of jeans and high, high heels.

I saw myself today.

And this time, I smiled.

This was written while I was on my break at work today. Cappuchino does wonders for the creative juices, y’all!

 

9 Responses to “I Saw Myself Today.”


  1. April 16, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Feels great, doesn’t it?

    Mmmm…caramel sauce. I’d like some now.

    Er…no, that’s not a come-on, just noting that I love caramel.

    Feeling beautiful is something most of us should do more of.

  2. April 16, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Twistie, your comment made me giggle. Hard! But yes, beautiful isn’t some aesthetic rule set forth in the Websters. It’s a state of mind. And I’m hoping that more women (and men) can feel that way, with no boundaries.

  3. 3 Bri
    April 17, 2008 at 6:07 am

    What a beautiful post. I am so pleased you were able to see that in yourself. Do you mind if I link to you from my blog?

  4. April 17, 2008 at 7:08 am

    Aww. Thanks, Bri! And sure, feel free to link away!

  5. 5 Eb
    April 18, 2008 at 7:05 am

    I love it… its all about loving the skin your in… no matter what you complexion and no matter what your size I feel every woman can relate!

  6. 6 From One Fat Black Woman To Another
    April 20, 2008 at 2:42 am

    WOW! LOVE IT! 🙂

  7. 7 nuckingfutz
    May 17, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    FN, I have been away way too long, so I was browsing through your archives to see what I’d missed. And came upon this.

    I am so happy for you, to have had that moment. A smile lit up my face and tears came to my eyes.

    Since I can’t be there to give you a real one, you’re going to have to settle for a virtual huggle. But the meaning is there.

    ~futz

  8. May 18, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Aww! Welcome back, Futz darling! *huggles*


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

