16
Apr
08

Why I am a Feminist

Editor’s Note: As I have been revamping my blog, I have invited a good friend of mine to join me. You’ve seen me refer to her in previous posts under a different moniker. But before she was the FutureProfessor, she was the IntellectualFeminist. There will be an about tab soon just for her! And now…her first post…

I am ashamed to say that I have spent most of my life trying not to ruffle feathers. And so, for every person who has ever asked me why I am a feminist I have given a less than honest answer, crippled by unexplainable fear of confrontation.

As complicated as my journey to self acceptance has been, my reason for being a feminist is actually quite simple.

Truthfully, feminism is the armor I wear to face a society that feeds on my hatred of self and of my body. I wear this armor in preparation for a battle that I have yet to undertake, until now.

Why am I a feminist?

Because I have something to say and I am no longer afraid to say it. I am ready to engage in the war of words and ideas that is the way that women look at themselves and their bodies. That journey starts with me, but it doesn’t end there. Madeleine Albright says it best:

There is a special place in hell for women who don’t help other women

I realize that this fight is one that I cannot fight alone. And that is what brings me here. To fearlessly begin that trek to the battlefield and invite those who read this to take up arms.

 

 

2 Responses to “Why I am a Feminist”


  1. April 17, 2008 at 10:08 am

    I’ve identified as a feminist since middle school, and I have no qualms today in declaring myself a feminist and supporter of feminism. Why am I a feminist? Short answer: Because I am a woman.

  2. 2 Nataly
    April 17, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Why am I a feminist? Because I don’t think that being a woman makes me less of a human being and less deserving of basic human rights. Because I am not scared of other women or men. Because I believe that society cannot move forward until we extend basic human rights to everyone regardless of anything (race, religion, gender, nationality, ethnicity, education, class, age, weight, height, physical ability, and anything else you can think of)


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

