19
Apr
08

What’s Your Favorite Body Part?

Yes, folks. I’m asking for your favorite body part. Why? More often than not, when one gets into a discussion about his or her body, instead of focusing on their favorite areas, the attention is turned to their “problem areas.” These areas that tend to hinder folks from certain outfits or activities…you know the deal.

But seriously, folks just don’t focus on the positive. My godmother, for example, has the most amazing rack I’ve ever seen on a woman. If I had boobs like hers, I’d wear low cut tops and shove them suckers as high as I could get them. I’d become a modern day Narcissus, except I’d be mesmerised by my boobs instead of my gorgeous face. My godmother on the other hand? She makes sure they’re completely covered, even going so far as to yank her top to further cover her cleavage…even if only she can see said cleavage.

When I (or mom, or *insert person here*) points out how amazing her boobs are, she’ll say, “Yeah, I suppose, but why doesn’t my ass match?” *heaves sigh* See? Folks pay ridiculous amounts of money to get a rack like hers, and all she can think about is having a bum. I just don’t get it.

So today, ladies (and gentlemen!), I’m callin’ all of y’all out. This thread is to be nothing but a slew of self-love, yo. I don’t want to hear about y’alls supposed flaws or problem areas or *insert name for body issue here.* I want to hear about your favorite body part. (Yes, you can tell us how sexy your brain is. It’s totally a body part.)

What’s mine? Well, I alluded to it in the piece I wrote at work the other day. Here, I’ll let Sir Mix-a-Lot tell y’all all about it:

Yes, indeed. Badonkadonk, ass, lil’ red wagon, junk in the trunk. No matter what name you use, it all applies. It’s been the one thing that’s been with me, well, it seems like forever.  When most folks hit puberty, they got a rack. Me? I got an ass. (The rack, while it ain’t on Rack ‘o Doom status, is pretty amazing, but it has nothin’ on my rump, y’all.) I can remember as early as 12 having lil’ boys admiring it. Fat or not, when I walk by in some heels and a dress…you can hear the gasps of admiration (and I can feel holes being burnt through it.)

Weirdly enough, I wanted to get rid of this bum ‘o mine. I was like my godmother: I don’t want others to see it. I’m happy I can’t see it. But it all changed because I noticed my silhouette. I love that curve and dip in my back and hip. It’s beautiful, and I’ve come to appreciate it for what it is. In the interest of full disclosure, even when I lost weight? That bad boy was STILL back there. Never budged. In fact, all the exercise I do now don’t make it move. But it does sit a little higher and rounder. And that’s awesome.

All this to say: it’s not worth it to harp on a “problem area.” Because in all seriousness, a problem area is rarely a problem for the person WITH the area. It’s a problem with the person who SEES the area. Same applies to folks who note that I have a “weight problem.” Negative. I have weight; YOU are the one who has the problem with it. So y’all stop internalizing that bullshit. I know it’s a hard road to travel. But I know it can happen. It just takes baby steps.

30 Responses to “What’s Your Favorite Body Part?”


  1. 1 vesta44
    April 19, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    I’ve always liked my ass. I met a really kewl guy at the skating rink when I was 19, he was following me around the floor trying to figure out how I got my ass to move the way it did when I skated (I moved my feet in time with the music while I was skating, which made my ass move in interesting ways, according to him). Even when I gained weight, my ass was still nice and always got compliments from the guys (and DH likes it too, although he’s more fixated on my rack o’doom….lol). And I like my feet too, even though I can’t always find shoes that are comfortable (high arches and a prominent bone on the inside, just under my ankle bone make comfort difficult to attain).

  2. April 19, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Ooh. I love my feet too, although lack of arches mean pain in about any shoe I wear. I don’t care, though. I’ll put some pretty polish on the toes, slap on a cute sandal…and strut!

  3. April 19, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    I like my hands, feet, calves and shoulders. 🙂 I like other parts of me too, but those are my favourites!

  4. 4 Shauna
    April 19, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I love my lips. I mean, even if they went to Deluth, left a mess, and took my tooth – uuuh, sorry. /veggietales

    Seriously, though, I have a small mouth but full, kissable lips.

    Things I also like:
    ~ my eyes
    ~ my boobs
    ~ my hips
    ~ and the rest of me, too!

  5. April 19, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Hmmm not sure its a “part” as such but for me I love the curvy shape my body makes. I’m in no-way a complete hour-glass but with D boobs and “birthin” hips with an indented waist I just love the shape that I can see when I have a crop top and awesome boot-leg pants on! So maybe I like my waist most since that is what the shape hinges on? I’m not sure really but I was sporting a great 2XL Eeyore shirt and those bootleg pants today and the fun shape I made just made me grin…or maybe that’s all the wine I’ve had for the first time in months 😉

  6. 6 Becky
    April 19, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    I sometimes am mesmerised by my boobs! I also love my butt, although I didn’t when I was younger. And my calves, in just the right heels. And my face and hair.

  7. 7 sweetmachine
    April 19, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    April D, I was trying to figure out how to describe the same thing! I love the line of my waist and hips. I also love my hair, and will love it even more when I get the pixie cut of my dreams next week.

  8. 8 mrs.millur
    April 19, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    I love my shoulders, and collarbone. I wish there was a way to show more shoulder, but it’s almost never appropriate for work. Yay for maternity leave! Bring on the tank tops and off-the-shoulder tops and let the world see my shapely shoulders, and fabulous tattoo.

  9. April 19, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Sweetmachine and April D, you can totally count the lines of the hips and waist as a part, since it’s a part of you (proverbially, I reckon).

    Man, Shauna, I can feel you on the lips. When I discovered lip gloss…whew!

    I love my boobs as well. Especially in a good bra. In fact, when I started buying plunge bras, I mesmerised myself a couple times!

    Yay shoulders and collarbone! *sigh*, it’s hard to show off appropriately. But then, some folks would say showing anything off at all is inappropriate.

  10. 10 Des
    April 19, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    I love my boobs! I thank the good lord everyday for the rack he gave me.

  11. 11 ladykuri
    April 19, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    My skin!!!! It’s Irish pale, and smooth and unblemished except for a few perfect freckles. It also makes me look very young and fresh when most of the women of my acquaintance and age are starting to show the years in the tanning bed (seriously, I think I was one of three or so teenage girls in the 90s who didn’t spend a significant portion of my time in one). Plus it keeps the rest of me wrapped up and nicely packaged 🙂

    Also my muscles, even if there aren’t as many as there used to be (no time to train anymore, darn responsibility!). They give me nice shape and allow me to do whatever I want or need to. They also allow me to not rely on anyone to do the “strong man stuff” around the house….I can outdo my husband in most “feats of strength” issues!

  12. 12 i_geek
    April 19, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    My teeth are nice and straight, and always have been with no orthodontic assistance. Plus, they’ve never had one cavity. I think that’s awesome. My ears are pretty, not too big or small, and they don’t stick out too far. They’re cute.I think my collarbones are pretty. I like the curve of my back in profile.

    I have a Rack of Doom (RoD, 30 F) but since I’ve found bras that actually fit the RoD properly, I’ve been mesmerized by it a couple of times. The husband is frequently mesmerized by it, and it serves as a useful distraction: just flash him, and he’ll completely lose his train of thought. 😀 But like your godmother, I’m not comfortable with visible cleavage, although I’ve recently started wearing scoopneck shirts. I’ve had it drummed in to my head so many times that the rack is scandalous and something to be ashamed of and hide that it’s hard to shake that mindset. Growing up with other kids making fun of one’s chest and one’s mom encouraging one to hide it kind of gives one a complex.

    I really like my hips and butt. They’re the right size to give me a nice hourglass with the RoD and they look good in jeans. Finally, I think my feet are pretty: slender with high arches and long toes. I like to paint the nails fun colors and wear sandals almost exclusively from mid-April to mid-October.

  13. April 19, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    I have a really nice butt, amazing eyes, fierce eyebrows, and really nice hair. Amazing hair. Also I like my feet, even though my mom calls them hobbit feet… short and hairy. 😉

  14. 14 Anna
    April 19, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I’m pretty great all ’round. I’ve got big broad shoulders, soft stomach, smaller waist, big hips, big legs, toned arms, long neck, sexy hair.

    I can’t pick just one!

  15. April 20, 2008 at 12:16 am

    I love my eyes. They’re a very dark blue, prettily shaped, and very expressive. They can also read for hours and stare in wonder at the beautiful things in the world. I love my lips. They’re the perfect fullness for my face. I even love them with the scars from an accident when I was a toddler. Somehow those couple of small scars add character and depth to my face. I love my strong, sturdy legs that have always enjoyed getting me around. I love my hands which are nimble and capable. They are equally deft at making pie crust and lace. They look great with lots of rings and bright nail polish. I love my laugh. A friend of mine keeps giggling and calling it an evil laugh. She’s right. I love my voice. It can be gentle and sweet, and it can be twelve times the size of the rest of me put together. It sings big enough to fill a large room and whispers naughty nothings in my beloved’s ear. I was once heard in the street while chewing out someone on the third floor of a brick building. He’d never heard me raise my voice before, and he damn well apologized the next morning, when he’d finished shaking. I love my tongue that appreciates the flavors of good food, my ears that allow me to enjoy music…or being nibbled on the lobe. I love my skin which is soft and sensitive, didn’t break out badly in my teen years, and hasn’t developed many lines in the forty five years I’ve been using it.

    Yeah, I kind of like most of me. There’s actually quite a bit to love…including my brain which is whimsical and serious by turns and has run the rest of my quite efficiently all these years.

    This is a great exercise. We should all do it more often.

  16. 16 Mercy
    April 20, 2008 at 2:33 am

    I like my eyelashes –they’re really long. Long enough that they brush my glasses when I wear them properly. And I like my eyebrows. When I get a wax, people try to convince me to let them wax my eyebrows, too, but I won’t because they’re nice and strong and I like the shape!

    I also like my leg muscles. Even though they aren’t so visibly defined anymore. In high school, I could leg press the entire stack of weights (520 lbs); it shocked the boys in my P.E. class who thought they were strong. I’ve always been proud of that. (I don’t have access to weights anymore, sadly.)

    I agree that it’s a great exercise.

  17. April 20, 2008 at 3:45 am

    I love my face (so THAT’s why Bee uses it as her avatar! ;o), I think it could hardly be any cuter. I have big blue yes, long lashes, shapely brows, a button of a nose, full lips and round cheeks. I also love my haircolour, a hue of red that nobody else has and that ties me to my similarly red-haired ancestors. I have soft porcelain skin that I’ve learned to appreciate only recently (thanks to my love for old paintings), elegant neck, delicate girly shoulders, perfectly proportioned boobs, tiny waist, feminine hips and shapely calves.

    Wow. I really am quite pretty, aren’t I? Who would’ve thought? ;o)

  18. 18 Gracie
    April 20, 2008 at 6:23 am

    I really like my hands, actually. They are very long, narrow, slender and pale, and admittedly I can amuse myself for hours on the train just looking at how my fingers move and putting my rings on different fingers to see the effect. My feet are the same. I have the longest toes of anyone I know, and they are quite spaced out because I dont wear shoes very often. Theyre also very narrow (makes shoe buying a biatch!) with a high arch.
    I also have very broad hips and a tiny waist.
    And I have lots of hair, the kind you should measure in cubic feet rather than length. It’s naturally chocolate brown with red tints 🙂

  19. 19 Froth
    April 20, 2008 at 7:08 am

    I love my hair, long, thick, slightly waved, equally willing to stay out of the way in a gleaming, rope-thick plait or draw all eyes in a loose dark waterfall.
    I love my legs, strong enough to carry me up mountains, fast enough to outrun my enemies, long enough to match my boyfriends stride.
    I love my bum, large and shapely and providing plenty of padding for my seat-bones.
    I love my waist that curves inwards, and my hips that give loving hands a place to rest, and my tummy, soft and rounded and a tempting target for raspberry blowers.
    I love my hands, with their long slim fingers, that are strong enough to open jam jars, nimble enough to write essays, gentle enough to stroke skin.
    I love my arms that can swing a sword or carry a child or hug a friend.
    I love my breasts, round and full and perfectly proportioned to the rest of me.
    I love my voice that can sing sweetly, whisper tenderly, snarl threateningly, shout frantically, speak comfortingly.
    But most of all I love my smile, the lopsided dimpled grin that lights up my whole face, that can be gleeful or mischevious or joyful, that is still my best feature when I’m naked.

  20. 20 wriggles
    April 20, 2008 at 7:35 am

    My brain, without it what am I?
    Like so many, I’m only beginning to truly appreciate it after having misused it sometimes terribly, I’ve come to really appreciate and respect it.

    I’m doing my best to right the wrongs, and to accept that I have to respect its needs or I can kiss goodbye to getting the best out of it.

  21. April 20, 2008 at 9:30 am

    I like my butt and hips. 🙂 I didn’t, forever, because they don’t match my completely un-doomly rack (with the Pill, I JUST got up to a 36B), but then I saw myself walking down a hallway and I realized, whoa damn, ain’t no one ever going to mistake me for anything but powerfully female.

    Also, although they’re completely useless (I spent 15 years as a pianist), I grow really nice fingernails.

  22. April 20, 2008 at 9:44 am

    I LOVE my legs, especially my thighs. It’s the one area of me that actually has some padding. 😛 And my legs are a nice length.
    I also like my very small breasts. I think small breasts are sexy in their own way.
    My eyes are a really pretty color (turquoise-ish, and they look greyish blue in some light) and I love my eyelashes too.
    I also like my slight pear shape, and it makes me so very happy when I find clothes that accentuate it.
    And yes, my brain is amazing. 🙂

  23. 23 Sarah
    April 20, 2008 at 10:44 am

    It’s taken me a while but my favorite body part is my chest. Especially since it is hard on a low income budget to buy bras. It’s the first place I lose or gain wieght. In the last two years I’ve started wearing sexier bras and lower cut shirts. I used to be like your godmother. Now I think it is funny to see not only men’s but women’s reactions to them even though I’m fat. It’s like a deer in head-lights look. My butt and hips have always been my favorite. I have always played them up with tight pants or a swing skirt. And my eyes are pretty. I like their color hazel-green. Also my hands and feet.

  24. April 20, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I love my hips. I love the way it feels when I move and shake them. I love the way they look when I wear certain clothes. There’s something about moving the central part of my body that makes me feel feminine. That’s probably why I love going dancing so much.

    Oh, and I love the person above who made the VeggieTales reference. 🙂

  25. 25 Jamie
    April 20, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    My clitoris. ‘Nuff said.

  26. 26 Millie
    April 20, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    I love my legs. They’re long and perfect and I always get compliments on them when I wear a skirt/dress/shorts. I could admire them all day and never get tired. I also love my hands, which are large, but perfectly proportioned. I have long, tapered fingers and perfect, healthy nails, and a scar on the bad of my left hand that makes me love it even more because it’s so distinctly mine.

  27. 27 Jen
    April 20, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    I love my feet, calves, breasts, face, eyes and hair. ^^ My feet are long and slender, my calves are well defined and strong. My breasts, although not a perfect match to each other, suit me fine and delight DH. My face is clean and round and cheerful and expressive as are my eyes. I get my eyes from my family, the colour of an early morning sky, kindof grey, kindof blue. My hair is longer than I’d like right now, I miss it being really short, but it’s a deep chocolate brown and wavy and generally does what I want.

  28. 28 intellectualfeminist
    April 20, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    What a great discussion this is! I don’t want to feel left out. While I am also a fan of the collar bone I have to say that my favorite body part is my hair. A couple of years ago I rebelled and cut every bit of my chemically straightened hair off. Yes folks, that’s 12 inches of hair gone and donated to Locks of Love. What I ended up with now that it is growing back was a chaotic cluster of curls. My hair now matches my free spirit and best of all I don’t have to do anything to it!

  29. 29 A.fro
    April 24, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    These comments (and of course, the post) are so lovely, I wanted to add my own: I love my legs. They are the biggest part of my body (I’m a pear shape), fat and soft, strong and sexy. I love showing them off in tight pants, flare pants, loose pants, short skirts, long skirts, heels and flats. My legs rock.

  30. April 24, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Hmmmm, tough question. I guess I can say my smile and the fact that I look very young (I’m 32 but I look a good 10 years younger).


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

