25
May
08

Weekend Inspiration

I am often disturbed at the latest trends in teen and preteen fashion. I blame those god awful Bratz dolls. Little girls looking like…well you know. Plus those t shirts that push this idea that women need to constantly be in competition. My boyfriend looks better than yours.  And things of that nature.

I can honestly say that my faith in the youth of today has officially been restored. Yesterday, while wondering aimlessly around my new city trying to figure out where I was and where I should have been going, I saw an adorable little girl, no more than nine I suspect. She was wearing a mint green t shirt with flowers all over it. The shirt said simply, “Love who you are”. Figured I would share that wonderful thought that resonates with children and adults alike. Have a great Memorial Day!

4 Responses to “Weekend Inspiration”


  1. 1 Hokie Thoughts
    May 25, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more, only my latest disillusionment came when watching a cheering competition for seven year olds that preceded my godson’s basketball game. I was appalled at the choreography that had these girls gyrating around, making suggestive moves, not to mention the outfits that left from upper torso to low hips completely exposed. While waiting for the game to start, I heard two women behind me talking, and one was asking the other where her daughter had been as she hadn’t been at practice in a few weeks. The mother responded that she felt that the coaches and club had crossed the line of decency for a child of that age and that she had opted instead to enroll her in another program that acted more age appropriate than the cheering squad on display. The resulting conversation was fascinating to eavesdrop on, and I was encouraged to hear that the still participating parent took the information of the new group as something that she might consider as an alternative for her daughter as well.

    It’s a small step, but it is at least in the right direction.

  2. May 25, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Hokie Thoughts: This is exactly why I won’t enroll my daughters in any dance classes. Right now, she goes to an after school singing club, and she’s in Rainbows, the youngest group for Girl Guides. She performs in singing club, and she is having lots of fun in both groups, but it’s about her talents as a person and not how her body looks in revealing clothing. Ugh.

    I think many parents are just lazy — it’s easier (and cheaper) to buy prostitot wear sometimes, than it is to dig around and find the age appropriate stuff. I can find cheap and cute clothes for my kids, but it takes twice as long to do so.

  3. May 25, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Jamboree, “prostitot” may be my new favorite word. LOVE.

  4. May 25, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Ugh, I know exactly what you mean. I have a four-year-old daughter, and even for her, it’s hard to find things that fit, that last, and that aren’t just awful. But sometimes, you get lucky: I was flipping through a clearance rack full of shirt after shirt emblazoned with “Princess” in stupid pink glitter letters. Just as I was about to give up, I found it: the very last shirt in Bacon’s size with FUTURE PRESIDENT in huge red-white-and-blue.

    And when luck doesn’t work, there’s always the boys’ section. Dinosaurs, I’ve found, don’t wear thongs.


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

