12
Jun
08

My Beautiful Mommy?

The other day in class, one of the students, who also teaches women’s studies at another university, said that she honestly believes that the way we as a feminist community will able to change society is by teaching our daughters. I would take that one step further and say we should teach our sons as well, but I really think she is on to something. The next day, I excitedly read my new issue of Bitch magazine. In it, I found a review of this book written for children with mothers preparing to have plastic surgery.

I am positive that this is not what my classmate was talking about.

I was in such disbelief about this ridiculous piece of literature, that I went to my local bookstore and read it for myself. What a waste of paper this was. The author should have marketed a series of refridgerator magnets that read “Feeling like shit about yourself is totally fine. Just have surgery.”

Seriously, when the mom explains to the kid why she is having surgery she says something to the effect of: when you get old you get wrinkly, things sag, and you gotta have surgery to make yourself pretty again.

What the fuck?

I want to make something painfully clear here. This book is being marketed to children between the ages of 4 and 9. What kind of message are we sending children so young? Children that young have enough to worry about. Why add a fear of getting old and an anxiety about their bodies?

And besides, when did something like going under the knife become fairy tale material. I read the book and I can tell you there was not one page dedicated to the fact that mommy could die from surgery. Or what happens when you read your kid the book and then something goes terribly wrong and you don’t come out “prettier”? What the fuck do you do then?

I am so sick and tired of the nonchalant way in which society at large deals with the problem of hating one’s body. People treat it like getting your period. It’s as though it’s just a part of life that you have no control over. This is why I love the fatosphere. It’s a community in every way, teaching young women (and old) how to love themselves and that they have more control over this process than they think.

So, in light of this new information I decided something. If the powers that be decided to render all birth control methods incapable of working on me (which is my worst nightmare but altogether possible) and I have a daughter I am going to write a little book of my own, since it’s seems to be trendy these days. The title of this book will be: Don’t Believe Anything You See on TV, and the Things You Read Are Probably Bullshit Too! So there you have it. 

8 Responses to “My Beautiful Mommy?”


  1. 1 viv
    June 12, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    amen. Plastic surgery is not like popping vitamin pills, it’s surgery and what message are we sending if every wrinkle and sag is unacceptable? Surgery is a momentous decision that could have lasting effects on our bodies and psyche!! Let’s not self mutilate, I’m all for non invasive enhancers but please stop butchering your perfectly normal healthy self for an image created to sell products.

  2. 2 Melissa
    June 13, 2008 at 12:12 am

    The more I watch plastic surgery shows, or celebrity reality shows the more I am being made aware of how severely dysfunctional our society has become- especially in the fact that everyone is trying to stay young and look like a “celebrity”.

    It’s quite sick and disturbing just to see so much surgery going on in fear of getting old. It would be nice if some of those people would come to the realization that what they are saying is not natural and their attainment of youth is an illusion.

    I am waiting for the day when plastic surgery becomes passe, and there’s all these over done ladies out there who can’t reverse their plastic surgery. It’s only cool because everyone sees it as their salvation. How sad.

    God help the young girls who read that book.

  3. 3 lin
    June 13, 2008 at 4:16 am

    I saw this on tv I was really wowed that some one would put out this book for kids

    now I kind of get a book about mom or dad getting a nose job if you want one its good to tell your young kid whats going on but don’t call it my My Beautful New Mommy I bet the child think mommy is pretty just the way she is

  4. June 13, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    I acutally blogged about that one myself. I was truly horrifed when I saw the pictures of it online.

  5. June 13, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Unbelievable.

    I tried to read a book once by a woman plastic surgeon and could only get halfway through (she had gone under the knife 3 times). The name escapes me now….

  6. June 13, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I remember reading about this book on the Fatosphere a while back. There’d been an article about it somewhere else and a lot of people were really outraged until a few people pointed out that a) the book was self-published and b) only available through the doctor that wrote it. In other words, some crackpot wrote a book and published a few hundred copies, but it’ll never make it to bookstores.

    The fact that it apparently did make it to bookstores scares the bejeesus out of me. All the worthy things that are written and not accepted for publication, and then this crap comes along…

  7. June 13, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    I completely agree that the book is ridiculous, and it’s disgusting that someone thinks it’s a good idea, but I want to point out that the book isn’t published by an actual publishing house; it’s published by a vanity press, which means the author paid to have it published and is solely responsible for its marketing and distribution. It’s unlikely more than a couple hundred copies, at the most, will be printed, although the attention it’s getting might unwittingly increase public interest.

  8. June 13, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I hope no one buys this book.


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

