29
Jul
08

Intuitive Eating and Me

Ugh. So, I’ve been having more technical problems. *shakes fist at Internet provider* But since I’m back for now, I’m gonna post before it conks out on me again.

I’ve spoken a bit about intuitive eating in some of my past posts. And I wish I could now say “It’s SO easy to do!”

But I’d be lyin’ to y’all.

What I’ve found (and naturally, YMMV), is that it’s hardest for me to listen to my body’s cues when I’m on my cycle. Ok, I’m about to get REAL personal, so if y’all aren’t quite ready to know me like that, you may want to navigate away.

Still here? Great! Ok. My eating habits pre-cycle are pretty average. But during? I’m tellin’ y’all, if you were to meet me, and not realize my cycle was the issue, you’d think I was pregnant. I want the most RANDOM foods ever at the most RANDOM times ever.

Case in point: Sunday morning (and I’m talking midnight, Sunday morning), I had a craving for…biscuits and gravy (maybe my last post was still ringing in my head?). Now, my approach to intuitive eating is as follows: I want said food, if said food is available, I eat said food. I tend to not ponder over the whys and such of wanting the food, cause I can talk myself right out of EATING sometimes. But all I could think when the craving hit was “Who in the hell wants biscuits and gravy at 12:20 am?!” Apparently, this woman, ’cause I paused my movie and rolled right out of bed to make those biscuits and gravy.

Now, we won’t talk about how gravy is one of those condiments I cannot make to save my life. Totally moot. But it turned out ok. And I was full and satiated. (Look for a recipe post Friday, provided the damned ‘net doesn’t die before then.)

All that to say: intuitive eating isn’t gonna be easy. I’ve been in convos about intuitive eating where women have said “If I ate what my body wanted, all I would eat is ____________!” My argument is: since you keep telling your body you can’t have ________, it’s gonna want _____. And the first thing that’s gonna happen when you actually listen to your body instead of ordering it about is it’s gonna want all that __________ you wouldn’t let it have before. That stops after awhile. What’s harder to stop is the need to rationalize why you’re eating what you’re eating (which also goes to the little anecdote above). When my little bro came wandering in the kitchen, to see me sprinkling parsley on my plate of biscuits, gravy, and scrambled eggs, he says “I wanted some breakfast too!” Ordinarily, I’d be all: “But I’m hormonal!” which involves an overshare that no 17-year old boy wants to know about, but instead I said:

Me: “Oh, yeah? Why didn’t you ask me to make you something?”

Him: *stares at my plate with disdain* (he doesn’t eat scrambled eggs without pork sausage–I don’t eat pork–and he’s not so fond of gravy…or biscuits.)

Me: “Oh, yeah. Right. Well, there’s pancake mix in there. Have at it.”

Him: *as he makes his meal* “I used to always wonder why you ate breakfast in the middle of the night.”

Me: *eyebrow raise*

Him: *carrying plate to his room* “But I know now. It just tastes better.”

And you know what else tastes good? Not having to keep my body from what it wants. Mmm, happy body moments. Goes great with Silk Very Vanilla Soymilk!

Editor’s Note: Littlem, check your inbox, darling. I finally got a chance to reply to you. Sorry for the lateness!

13 Responses to “Intuitive Eating and Me”


  1. July 29, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    I nearly tore my kitchen apart yesterday afternoon when a sudden, intense desire for waffles hit me at three in the afternoon. No cycle issues, just a random, sudden craving. I know we used to have a waffle iron somewhere, but for the life of me I couldn’t find it. Drat.

    So I figured that since circumstances were going to take me out of the house for breakfast this morning, I would just order waffles then. This morning I walked into the best waffle house in town…and immediately ordered grits and bacon.

    Go figure.

    Sometimes the human body is a flabbergasting entity.

  2. 2 buddingstarlit
    July 29, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Babe…I know that totally said I was having salad today. You were on the phone with me as I did the grocery shopping for the ingredients. So why did I walk right into the kitchen and make a bowl of…cereal?! Posts Good Mornings with Blueberries. Sure did! It was good too. I’ve got nothing friend. You know I am a bit…odd to say the least.

  3. 3 intellectualfeminist
    July 29, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I think this blog is now causing what I am currently calling inspirational eating. So, before I responded to this post I poured myself a glass of very vanilla and am currently enjoying it with a vegan chocolate chip cookie. I do think that intuitive eating is a difficult concept to grasp. Instead of inustant random cravings I’ll go through phases where I’ll have a taste for something and eat it almost everyday for a week. Then I won’t want it for a while. The strange thing is that if I eat out at the same place four times in a week I find that sometimes I feel guilty. Then I realize that its all veggies and I’m not actually eating anything unhealthy. Its so frustrating trying to unprogram your brain from all the conditioning that happens just by participating in dominant ideology.

    But on a happy note, this cookie and milk is soooo tasty! Yea for happy body moments and the cookies that go with them!

    P.S. If you could figure out a vegan recipe for biscuits and gravy (I know it sounds wrong) I would love you forever.

  4. July 29, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    …Well, I got about as much as you do, Ms. Starlet.

    And I did something very similar one day, Twistie. I’d just gotten off work, and I was hungry. I didn’t want the chicken that lil bro was frying. (Not to say he can’t cook, ’cause he’s pretty good at it. I…just didn’t want fried chicken.)

    And we stopped at the Jack In The Box…and ordered me some chicken strips. My rationale? I didn’t want bones in my fried chicken.

    Strange distinction, that.

  5. July 29, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    And since IntellectualFeminist and I were posting at the same time:

    While looking for a sausage gravy recipie, I actually found a vegetarian version. So, expect that on Friday. Actually, y’all should leave recipe requests in the comments. I’ve been in a cooking mood as of late, so I’m willing to even test what y’all send my way.

    Provided there’s no beef or pork in them. If so, I’ll have lil bro be the guinea pig. 🙂

  6. 6 April D
    July 29, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Oh I haven’t had biscuits and gravy in forever but the idea of an awesome buttery “Mama’s Biscuit” as we call them is very appealing right now! 🙂 I don’t think it will be simple for any of us to de-program after a life of ordering our bodies around. This “Listening” to ourselves is as foreign as moon rocks; and just as hard. (heehee…yes that was funny in my head).

    Anyways kudos for having a great moment of listening and may more continue to come along; as strange as they might end up being! 😀

  7. July 29, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    You know what else tastes good in the middle of the night?

    Chicken Pot Pie.

    mmm. Pie.

  8. 8 Piffle
    July 29, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Limeade is good. Take 5 limes, squeeze dry. I have a juicer that’s a little plastic dome screwed on over a glass catcher jar, so I use some cold water (from the fridge cold, not tap cold) and rinse the pulpy bits for maximum liminess. Pour into a jug. Then add 1 cup of sugar syrup (dissolve three cups sugar in 5 cups water in a pan over the heat, store in fridge for instant use and no undissolved sugar). You could probably substitute a half to three-quarters cup of light corn syrup instead. Add a pinch of salt. Add about a half liter of cold water, stir, add another liter of water, stir again. If you stored the water in the fridge you can drink it right off, otherwise cool in the fridge and enjoy!

  9. July 30, 2008 at 1:22 am

    mmm…. Chicken Pot Pie…

    I would be SERIOUSLY grateful to anyone who could hook me up with a good recipe for chicken pot pie. I haven’t eaten it since I left the states, and I’ve been wanting it lately.

  10. 10 Kate
    July 30, 2008 at 2:19 am

    @ Intellectualfeminist, if I’m not mistaken, there’s totally a recipe for biscuits and gravy in Vegan with a Vengeance. I can vouch that it was delicious, and I had never even had the stuff before I was vegan.

  11. July 30, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Looking forward to the veggie sausage gravy recipe! I haven’t had that since I went vegetarian and its one of my favorite dishes I remember my mom making from scratch.

  12. 12 scotlyn
    August 3, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Sorry, Hide & Seek, but I’m just not getting how this:

    “What I’ve found (and naturally, YMMV), is that it’s hardest for me to listen to my body’s cues when I’m on my cycle.”

    can’t square with this:

    “I want the most RANDOM foods ever at the most RANDOM times ever…Case in point: Sunday morning (and I’m talking midnight, Sunday morning), I had a craving for…biscuits and gravy…”

    Going for the biscuits n gravy sounds EXACTLY like listening to the body’s cues to me. Or did I miss the bit where you explained what your body’s cues “should” have been saying in order to be correctly and properly “intuitive”?

    I’d go on and just enjoy them, I would!

  13. August 3, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Or did I miss the bit where you explained what your body’s cues “should” have been saying in order to be correctly and properly “intuitive”?

    heh. That part was implied, rather than said. And I did enjoy my biscuits and gravy, I did! 🙂


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

