01
Aug
08

Delicious Friday: Foods We Crave

Alrighty. Earlier this week, I told y’all about my odd, cycle-driven cravings, and asked y’all what foods you love or would like a recipe for.

I can’t tell y’all how tickled I was when y’all told me you wanted a recipe for biscuits and gravy, veggie style.

So, when I was looking for my sausage gravy recipe, I ran across a vegetarian version. It actually looks pretty tasty:

mmm. gravy!

mmm. gravy!

Photo credit goes to Karry Hosford. Click the pic for the recipe. Now, there’s one problem with this recipe: it has milk and butter and all kinds of animal products used in it, which will make IntellectualFeminist unhappy as she’s vegan. So, I put my search skills to work, and found that there is a Vegetarian Journal. (Was anyone else aware of this? I must be getting way too behind in my foodie reading pursuits.) Click this sentence to see a vegan take on biscuits and gravy.  Oh, and here is the recipe I used for my biscuits, and here is the recipe I used for my sausage gravy (I substituted turkey sausage for the pork; it was yummy!)

Now, this next recipe will make BuddingStarlet very happy. She’s always asking me about my pizza dough, because she never can remember what I put into it. This recipe comes from my favorite vegetarian cookbook: The Best Ever Vegetarian Cookbook. It’s actually a recipe for a specific pizza, Ricotta and Fontina Pizza, but the dough is so delicious I use it for just about anything concerning yeasty bready goodness. I’ll type up just the dough making part; if y’all want the rest of the recipe, let me know and I’ll put it in comments.

Ingredients:

1/2 teaspoon active dry yeast

pinch of sugar

4 cups white bread flour

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

To make the dough, put 1 1/4 cups warm water in a measuring cup. Add the yeast and let sit for 5-10 minutes, until frothy. Sift the flour and salt into a large bowl and make a well in the center. Gradually pour in the yeast mixture and the olive oil. Mix to make a smooth dough. Knead on a lightly floured surface for about 10 minutes, until dough is smooth, springy, and elastic. Place the dough in a floured bowl, cover, and let rise in a warm place for 1 1/2 hours.

As a side note: every time I make this pizza dough, I usually need a little more water or oil to get my dough to come together properly. It may be because I use my stand mixer and a dough hook instead of the spoon and bowl method. Just a bit of warning: you may want some extra liquid on hand. Now, this dough will make 4 10-inch pizza dough rounds. I usually just halve the dough and make two big pizzas. When you’re ready to bake it, the temp is 425 (f) and the time is about 15 minutes for the small rounds, it’s about 20 for my bigger pizza. Of course, everyone’s oven is different, so adjust times accordingly.

Next up: chicken pot pie. In the comments, The Bald Soprano requested a good recipe, as she hasn’t had it since she left the States. Poor thing. Well, since I wasn’t sure how you preferred your crust part of the pie, I’m giving you two recipes: the original, and then an alternate crust you can use if you don’t do biscuits.

A few posts back, I wrote about a pot pie I wanted. Click this sentence for the recipe. Yes, I know, that says turkey. I substituted some leftover rotisserie chicken for the turkey, and it tasted just as wonderful. Now, I usually make a pot pie with, well, pie crust. This one has biscuits, but let me tell y’all. Those biscuits meld so good with the filling, it’s worth a try. Seriously. But, if you’re someone who prefers pie crust, here’s a great recipe for a 9 inch pie crust courtesy of The All-New Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook.

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup plus one tablespoon chilled shortening (if you’re vegetarian/vegan, use veggie shortening. I use butter.)

3 to 4 tablespoons ice water

Combine flour and salt; cut in shortening with a pastry blender until mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle ice water, one tablespoon at a time, evenly over surface; stir with a fork until dry ingredients are moistened. Shape into a ball; cover and chill until ready to use.

Roll pastry to 1/4 inch thickness on a lightly floured surface, place in pie plate; trim off excess pastry along edges. Fold edges under and crimp. Chill.

For baked pastry shell, prick bottom and sides of pastry shell with a fork. Chill pastry until ready to bake. Bake at 450(F) for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden.

I included how to do a bottom crust in case you prefer crust on top and bottom. I prefer just the top.

Finally, what would a good meal be without a good drink to go along with it? Piffle came by and offered a great recipe for limeade. As the limes I saw in the market last night looked as if they’d been battered, I haven’t had a chance to try it. But I want to, because it sounds SO refreshing (damn this 101 degree weather!) Here y’all go:

Limeade is good. Take 5 limes, squeeze dry. I have a juicer that’s a little plastic dome screwed on over a glass catcher jar, so I use some cold water (from the fridge cold, not tap cold) and rinse the pulpy bits for maximum liminess. Pour into a jug. Then add 1 cup of sugar syrup (dissolve three cups sugar in 5 cups water in a pan over the heat, store in fridge for instant use and no undissolved sugar). You could probably substitute a half to three-quarters cup of light corn syrup instead. Add a pinch of salt. Add about a half liter of cold water, stir, add another liter of water, stir again. If you stored the water in the fridge you can drink it right off, otherwise cool in the fridge and enjoy!

I hope y’all enjoy these recipes. If y’all have a favorite recipe you want to add, or you want to let us know how the recipes I put up today went for you, just leave us a comment! As for me, I’m gonna grab some water and figure out what I’m making for my own supper. Have a great weekend!

3 Responses to “Delicious Friday: Foods We Crave”


  1. 1 intellectualfeminist
    August 1, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Yummy. I tried the limeade recipe because I love the stuff and it turned out really well. I don’t know if I am quite ready to wrap my head around biscuits and gravy but I suppose I will have to try.

  2. August 1, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Aww. Biscuits are easy to do. It just takes a little practice. The biggest thing to remember is that your rice/soy milk and your shortening/ soy butter must be very, very cold. (This goes for making pie crust too.) Once you remember that, and getting the hang of cutting the fat into the flour, it’s pretty simple.

    And mmm. Limeade.

  3. 3 buddingstarlit
    August 2, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    motha sucka!!! girl you just made my lil o day!!!!


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

