11
Sep
08

Music Makes it Better

So, yesterday, after a pleasant conversation with BuddingStarlet, I decided I should get up and clean the house. I do so every week, but I always have to find the motivation.

I loathe cleaning. I do. With the fire of a thousand suns.

Anyhow, in between reading the Fatosphere and catching some Dr. Phil, I got to work scrubbing the bathroom. I wouldn’t dislike this if I didn’t have to share the bathroom with a 17 year old. And even still, it wouldn’t be so bad except he’s a boy, and I have to clean the toilet.

Can someone explain to me how men manage to miss? WTF, yo.

Well, once I get the Clorox in the toilet and the Comet in the tub, I’m already sick of the whole idea and want to go find something else to do. Instead of that, I grab a mix CD and a tiny radio/cd player and put it on. I hadn’t listened to that CD in forever, so I had no clue what was on there.

First Track: Crazy in Love. Hm. Ok, then. I proceed to scrub the sink. Amerie’s “One Thing” comes on, and I scrub the dreaded toilet. By the time I get to “Bootylicious”, I’m shimmying all around the room with the Swiffer as if I can actually dance, and once I’m done, I’m kinda sad about it.

So, I move little cd player to the kitchen, and do dishes and sweep and mop. All the while, I’m bringing sexy back, learning about Christina’s candyman, and trying to help Beyonce understand her Deja Vu.

Yeah, I still loathe cleaning, but music helps make it better for me. How about y’all? What motivates y’all do to something you can’t stand? Or, if you hate cleaning too, what music makes it go by faster?

4 Responses to “Music Makes it Better”


  1. 1 nuckingfutz
    September 11, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Ha! I had the EXACT same ritual when I was a single mother (today happens to be my anniversary – 9 years; so that gives you an idea). We all (and by “all,” I mean myself, my babysitter, and my then-2-year old) cleaned up after ourselves during the week, but the weekend was when I would do the “heavy-duty” cleaning.

    And Every. Single. Weekend. we (me & my kids) would put on the boombox and get at it. Well, I say “kids” but the oldest actually just watched. She’s autistic and doesn’t know HOW to clean up after herself, so me & the younger one would clean up after her together. (And yes, my 2-year old daughter knew how to clean up after herself and her sister. All she did was put their toys and dirty clothes away, but that made such a huge difference.)

    We would put on things like Melissa Etheridge, Meatloaf, Natalie Imbruglia (we’re talking 1998/1999 here). And the house would get cleaned in no time at all. šŸ™‚

    Oh, but we had to sing along, too. HAD to. It was a requirement, seriously. šŸ˜‰

  2. September 12, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Ha! I totally i did exactly that like two days ago in my dorm room. My list is a big combination of the poptastic (Britney, Avril), the trendy-poppy (M.I.A., Robyn), and some really upbeat songs by non-pop types. But I wouldn’t be able to enjoy those songs while cleaning if not for the preponderance of the first type of song. The best is when you start shaking your booty while you shove things into your garbage.

  3. 3 Catgal
    September 17, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Polka music is great to clean bathrooms to! Being Polish, the Sunday Polka radio show would always get me moving. I also listened to musical film soundtracks and sang every word of every character. Talk about excercise…

  4. December 2, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Music makes everything better, cooking, cleaning, workout out. Thanks for the post!


Leave a Reply

RSS Notes From The Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Filthy Mouth. Let Me Showz You It.

Favorite Shops

Eshakti: We Design, You Customize!

